Birthday · Technique

Three cards with one background

In order to clear my desk of some “rejected” images and backgrounds I decided to make three fairly similar cards.  I often find that I will be making a card and think I want to use a specific image or background then find that there is a better alternative, these pieces often sit unused on my desk.  I decided to create a simple background piece from some vellum to use with a few of the images I had already coloured and ready to go.



 

I embossed MFT’s Wavy Coloring Book Background with clear embossing powder on a piece of vellum.  I then coloured the vellum using MFT blueberry hybrid ink over the embossed image.  Once dried I cut the 6 x 6 background piece into three smaller pieces to use on three separate cards.  I used Simon Says wave dies to create a waters edge on all three pieces.  I attached Copic coloured Lawn Fawn images under the “water” background pieces.  On one of the background pieces I removed the clear embossing powder with a Tombow Mono eraser make the image brighter.  I finished all three with MFT Cloud 9 dynamics using a Spectrum Noir shimmer pen to add some glitter.  Now the only dilemma is which one to use for the first fawnatics challenge. 

Leave a Reply

